What’s in a Name?

What’s in a name?

I’ve had a weird life. I’ve tried to explain some of it but the totality of this journey (I am only half way through) is beyond even my own comprehension most of the time. It’s like I’ve been on some sort of enlightenment Indy 500. This is partly due to my ability to remain as stubborn as they come in the face of my greatest fears (which have often found themselves settled just a little too comfortably at my feet and if there is anything that limits spiritual growth, it is fear).

It’s hard to talk about spirituality, religion, beliefs because it is such a personal journey, but it is also very advantageous and healing to receive reflections on this inner world we all possess (until we don’t). There is so much of the subconscious involved that it becomes nearly impossible, especially in this fast-moving turn of the wheel, to say or hear “hey, I have the golden ticket, the master key, THIS is the way to wake up, or know God or know thyself or live”, etc, etc. Unfortunately, we live in a time where people are still adamantly attempting to enforce spiritual legalism on others. An impossible and fruitless task in my humble opinion. Much like physical and cognitive development, spiritual or consciousness development is personally timed, arising in the individual first (much like a buried seed eventually grows, this is unique to each subconscious in terms of arrival and dependent on how much it is watered and offered light and sustenance).

The best we can hope to do is offer a nod and a slap on the back and say yep, I’m growing my consciousness too.

Many of us are exploring the invisible domains of witness with some sort of energetic assistance that does not fit any of the models of scientific possibility (they have discovered yet) except for maybe quantum entanglement. To find the others in our soul collective who have experienced similar methods of training or growth as our own, is deeply moving and those connections fill us with hope and assurance, the stamina to keep searching for truth. It is with that in mind, that I offer this take on things. Keep in mind, however, that the further along you get, the less you will need that assurance, feedback, validation. An awareness to the more subtle synchronicities, the microcosmic examination of one strand of this web, yields a macrocosm of dynamic connections which, upon further examination, reveals much about the entirety of this Universe we call home. So, here I am, offering my strand for all to decipher because I do believe there is much to be gained from observations of this nature. And this is the time to do it.

I was raised with an astounding array of spiritually mixed metaphor. Thankfully. I am Christian, but the dogma was replaced with a whole lot of mysticism and a sharp realization that in order to understand it fully, I must also understand Jewish and Muslim faith. I am Shamanic, but wary of the cultural cues I am missing because my blood quantum is not enough to grant me access. I was pagan but without the rituals or illusion of self-endowed power. I was atheist in my quest for proof and alignment with scientific principles but without the fear of the hypothesis starting out with a big fat yes, a God/Creator exists. And finally, in the last several years, I’ve grown my Buddhist wings and learned how to float on the winds of the breath of serenity. I have also respectfully observed the guidance of Mother Africa, as she has called us all just as loudly as she can to awaken from our slumber as the next Great Year comes rolling through like a freight train one minute, a gentle caress the next. It is a beautiful time to be alive.

I have always believed there was something truly remarkable, some change beyond all changes that would occur during my lifetime. I did my very best to hurry through my lessons so I would understand the magnitude and awesome display of the inner workings of the Universe as they unfold, unveiled in all their spectacular glory. This being a time of transition, I didn’t want to miss a thing. It is clear to me that I am not the only one feeling this, witnessing and experiencing this, but I also see a whole lot of distractions and I can’t help but see that these distractions have the sole purpose of disrupting the very unique opportunity that is presenting itself. I have been blessed with a mind open enough to recognize that even beings not indigenous to this planet have come to witness this awesome display. Each culture is given a piece of the puzzle, but the full picture does not become apparent until we sit in contemplation of each other’s secrets with eyes and hearts wide open.

You see, during this time we all get to compare notes, correct errors in interpretations and gain knowledge that will serve our future generations. My eyes have been able to adjust to the truth that many cultures have pointed to by way of (what looks on the surface to be) prophecy, a head’s up to their future generations about this time (which happens about every 24,000 years by some accounts). It is clear that some would seek to muddy the waters (with enforced boundaries, divisionary labels, presumptions based on assumptions and energetic manipulations) so that we cannot forge these relationships, gain this larger understanding and with it, a boundless freedom and protection from the twisted tongues of our forefather’s version of self-promoting history. Let us be very clear that this is not business as usual and the same old song and dance tactics are no longer relevant or effective. We are awake.

Let me give you an example of what this looks like from my personal vantage point and with regard to something that generally sticks in my craw, the maladaptive interpretations of the Bible that promote fear and division. Take my name for instance, it has been a beacon to me in troubled times, a well spring of hope and guidance largely because it has connections to my faith of origin. I didn’t choose it, but damn does it fit. Did it shape me or did the travails of my life bring it into more significant meaning? Unawake, it is just a name attached to a social security number and citizenship, something people call out to get my attention. Awake, it holds a key which may be fundamental to the fuller understanding of my role and mission here on planet earth in this particular time and place. Seen in this light it becomes more than an avatar, it becomes an expression of the Universe I just happen to get front row seats to. And the world is full of these occurrences and peculiarities if we only find a way to make the subconscious connections available for conscious interpretation, whereby they can then be translated to aid in the greater understanding of human consciousness.

My first name is Melissa, translated loosely it means honey or honey bee. Middle name, Ann, translated loosely to merciful or with grace. Last name given to me by my mother, Schneller, translated loosely to faster. Last name given to me by my father, LaFontaine, translated loosely to one who lives near a well or spring.

The meaning of my name from the predominate cultural narrative I was born into has value to me which I can barely speak of anymore because tensions around any religious text or belief have become unbearable. Let me point out, for those who do not know, the metaphorical backstory that goes with this seemingly unplanned detail so you can see how it has provided me with meaning and direction when the material world got the best of me. Too many believe that in order to achieve peace and unity we must put down our unique positioning and subject ourselves to the complete rejection of our heritage and identity. This is somewhat misleading and could be more harmful than beneficial. Generally speaking, it is an unnecessary perspective and drawn from a confusion about the true nature of the ego illusion. The illusory ego contains that which is limiting and placed upon us without examination. It represents an overidentification with a very narrowly defined aspect of reality. Identity, (and the fruit of identity which is personality) allows us a reference point with which to filter information and interact with the world and should not be considered the same as ego. It is fairly impossible to experience the world without some semblance of an identity at this stage of the game.

Anyways, let’s unpack this a little more so you can see what I mean. On many occasions when asked my name, I would reply “Melissa, which means honey in Greek, as in the land of milk and”. I’ve always believed that the promises of freedom and paradise mentioned were absolutely available for me if I was able to follow the guidance and teachings contained within. The text is from Exodus 33:3 specifically (and relevantly if you understand the numerology of the Bible) but 33:1-4 gives us a little more context. Bear with me.

1And the LORD said unto Moses, Depart, [and] go up hence, thou and the people which thou hast brought up out of the land of Egypt, unto the land which I sware unto Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, saying, Unto thy seed will I give it 2 And I will send an angel before thee; and I will drive out the Canaanite, the Amorite, and the Hittite, and the Perizzite, the Hivite, and the Jebusite 3 Unto a land flowing with milk and honey: for I will not go up in the midst of thee; for thou [art] a stiffnecked people: lest I consume thee in the way. 4 And when the people heard these evil tidings, they mourned: and no man did put on him his ornaments.

Now, on first pass it may not appear to be much of a personal connection to me at all and without the added benefit of my study of other culture’s spiritual record and advisement, I may not have given it a second thought. It would seem that the text is referring to groups of people far removed from my here and now, as if I am observing the historical testimony of an interaction between a Being called LORD advising his subjects. I’m sure you, like me, have heard the line of reasoning that there is a certain promised land that a certain group of people get to have, all others be damned. But is that an accurate interpretation?

What if we look at it like this? Can I liken myself to the honey in this land flowing with milk and honey, the personification of one who has drunk from the fountain, maybe even the bringer of the well-spring flowing with the water of life, the physical embodiment of the grace of God, a model of one who took the short-cut and got there faster (thank you Jesus) – Can I make that claim for myself, all others be damned? Can I call myself the Chosen One because of these insights? The words fit. It could be interpreted as such. Right? But alas, I cannot and would not. Do you understand why? Because I think it is high time we all get this lesson, high time indeed as certain entities mount their excuses regarding their incessant need for war on the backs of a self-righteous indignation and pseudo-holy outcry.

What if we take this even further? Broaden our perspective and the amount of information available to compare and contrast in order to elucidate the meaning of this text to something relevant to all, instead of a chosen group or a chosen one?

1And the LORD said unto Moses, Depart, [and] go up hence, thou and the people which thou hast brought up out of the land of Egypt, unto the land which I sware unto Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, saying, Unto thy seed will I give it: (The pure and unadulterated aspect of the Divine personality says depart from the slavery and chains of ego and sensory desires and experience the promised results found by way of the freedom of Spirit inherited by our common ancestry, found within, called the seed of consciousness)

2 And I will send an angel before thee; and I will drive out the Canaanite (third eye chakra imbalance), the Amorite (heart chakra imbalance), and the Hittite (solar chakra imbalance), and the Perizzite (crown chakra imbalance), the Hivite (root chakra imbalance), and the Jebusite (sacral chakra imbalance): (recognizing these groups of people as metaphors for spirits or emotions that work against finding balance in the midst of an ego vs spirit lesson, each representing certain aspects of ego issues (see table below, not my own creation, easily found through a google search) If we can examine them as representations of chakra points, we can see what order would be of most benefit to focus on that would allow us to rise up out of the chains of slavery to ego desires. This perspective allows us to move away from the false teachings that suggest God is a big fat smiter out to get everyone who doesn’t submit to HIM instead of a guide to our Divine nature).

Spirit name Meaning of name Abbreviated explanation of effects
Hittites Sons of terror Subliminal torments, phobias, terror, depression, deceit
Amorites Mountain people; renowned Obsession with earthly fame and glory, domineering
Canaanites Lowlands people Addictions, perversions, exaggerated people-pleasing
Perizzites Belonging to a village Limited vision, laziness, low self-esteem
Hivites Villagers Vision limited to enjoying an earthly inheritance, hedonism
Jebusites Threshers Suppression of spiritual authority in fellow believers, legalism

 

3 Unto a land flowing with milk and honey: for I will not go up in the midst of thee; for thou [art] a stiffnecked people: lest I consume thee in the way. (stiffnecked: stubborn or resisting the dissolution of false ego, therefore the presence of such a Spirit would have destroyed their ego instead of them doing the work to understand, cleanse and subdue it themselves.)

4 And when the people heard these evil tidings, they mourned: and no man did put on him his ornaments. (did not embellish themselves to look spiritually mature when they were not)

My point here is that this religious text has been interpreted in such a way as to benefit a select few, and guess who decided who those select few are? The ones benefiting of course. It has also been used as a defense for actions which harm others. There are other religious texts which have been used in the same manner. If we are going to choose to take these words literally, as an historical text talking about specific people who are no longer living, why would we then apply those directives to modern day groups of people and subject the whole world to a war based on them?

What my strange life has taught me, is that if these words are placed in context and alignment with all other spiritual revelations and traditions, the meaning is not only profound and robust but relevant to true spiritual growth that all spiritual seekers could benefit from. So, it would seem to me that the problems we are facing are a result of massive effort to distort and box the language quite purposefully in order to manipulate the true message contained within. How fucking evil do you have to be to do that? Let me be clear, you monstrosities disguised as humans, no amount of misleading interpretations or self-righteous proclamations of personal or tribal glory based on these words, is going to buy you absolution from the manipulation that you have thrust upon mankind due to your selfishness and greed. Truth will always be revealed in the end. Always.

Light, Love and Truth are one and the same and the recognition of this leads one to profound joy. The more of us that speak to this, find the cross-referenced analyses that benefit all instead of a select few, the easier and less burdensome the false ego’s cumbersome and limiting interpretations of reality will be. For EVERYONE. Witness, observe, light up the Truth. Namaste. May the peace that surpasses all understanding be upon you always.

Leave a Reply

